Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Bone yard
2008
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'Find It' section below.
Find It
Annotations

When a mass grave site is unearthed along the Appalachian Trail, FBI special agent Kelly Jones searches for the killers with assistance from law enforcement from both Massachusetts and Vermont and a forensic anthropologist. Original. - (Baker & Taylor)

On the trail of a serial killer, the path splits in two...

FBI special agent Kelly Jones has worked on many disturbing cases in her career, but nothing like this. A mass grave site unearthed on the Appalachian Trail puts Kelly at the head of an investigation that crosses the line--from Massachusetts to Vermont, from wealthy vacationers to poor transients, from a serial killer to a copycat nemesis.

Assisted by law enforcement from both states and a forensic anthropologist, Kelly searches for the killers. But as darkness falls, another victim is taken. Kelly must race to save him before he joins the rest...in the boneyard.

- (Simon and Schuster)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Library Journal Reviews

In this follow-up to her debut, Tunnels , Gagnon delivers another psychological crime thriller again featuring FBI special agent Kelly Jones, who closely resembles Clarice Starling, Thomas Harris's heroine in Silence of the Lambs . This time, Kelly investigates a string of grisly crime scenes left in the wake of a sadistic serial murderer's frenzied path along the northern stretch of the Appalachian Trail in Vermont and Massachusetts. Gagnon's plot is fast-paced, appropriately detailed in its forensic depictions, and reveals an attention to authentic FBI detection procedures that lets the reader know that the author has done her homework. While this novel doesn't offer anything particularly original to the genre, it is an engaging and quick read. Recommended for popular fiction collections for readers who like Jeffery Deaver, J.D. Robb, and Kay Hooper.—Carolann Curry, Mercer Univ. Medical Lib., Macon, GA

[Page 90]. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Publishers Weekly Reviews

Quantico-based FBI agent Kelly Jones returns (from The Tunnels ) in Gagnon's straightforward procedural, called in to investigate a site in the Berkshires: six unburied skeletons spread across Massachusetts and Vermont state lines. The victims, young gay hustlers, are barely missed by the insular local law enforcement. As more bones turn up, Kelly realizes that she's dealing with two serial killers—an expert and an impulsive amateur copycat. As Kelly wrangles her uncooperative task force, the two killers play a game of cat and mouse with each other, and as Kelly draws closer, members of her team get drawn into their deadly game. Gagnon plays the antagonism between the two villains nicely, but ends up imputing more color to the antagonists than to Kelly & Co. (July)

[Page 117]. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1