Skip to main content
Displaying 1 of 1
Wish you were gone
2021
Please select and request a specific volume by clicking one of the icons in the 'WHERE IS IT?' section below.
WHERE IS IT?
Trade Reviews

PW Annex Reviews

YA author Scott (the Cheerleader trilogy) makes her adult debut with a stylish thriller fueled by family deceptions. Emma Walsh is finally ready to tell her angry, alcoholic husband, James, she wants a divorce after years of hiding his flaws from the world. When James neither arrives at the Manhattan restaurant chosen for the conversation nor answers her texts, she returns home to suburban New Jersey. Five hours later, his car crashes into their garage with James unconscious inside it. The police deem his subsequent death accidental, but Emma has questions. Most urgently, where is his ubiquitous cellphone, and who is the woman who answers when Emma calls his number? Emma's two closest friends offer to help her find out amid their own personal difficulties, including the wife of James's partner in a lucrative sports PR firm, a former NFL linebacker who has developed sports-related brain damage. As Emma uncovers James's hidden life, she finds that her two teenage children have secrets of their own. Scott's complex story lines come together in an explosive climax. Fans of Lisa Jewell and Liane Moriarty will welcome this new arrival on the domestic thriller scene. Agent: Holly Root, Root Literary. (Nov.)

Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly Annex.

PW Annex Reviews

YA author Scott (the Cheerleader trilogy) makes her adult debut with a stylish thriller fueled by family deceptions. Emma Walsh is finally ready to tell her angry, alcoholic husband, James, she wants a divorce after years of hiding his flaws from the world. When James neither arrives at the Manhattan restaurant chosen for the conversation nor answers her texts, she returns home to suburban New Jersey. Five hours later, his car crashes into their garage with James unconscious inside it. The police deem his subsequent death accidental, but Emma has questions. Most urgently, where is his ubiquitous cellphone, and who is the woman who answers when Emma calls his number? Emma's two closest friends offer to help her find out amid their own personal difficulties, including the wife of James's partner in a lucrative sports PR firm, a former NFL linebacker who has developed sports-related brain damage. As Emma uncovers James's hidden life, she finds that her two teenage children have secrets of their own. Scott's complex story lines come together in an explosive climax. Fans of Lisa Jewell and Liane Moriarty will welcome this new arrival on the domestic thriller scene. Agent: Holly Root, Root Literary. (Nov.)

Copyright 2021 Publishers Weekly Annex.

Annotations

When her husband James, prone to alcoholic rages and blackouts, dies in a tragic accident, Emma Walsh finds her and her children’s grief complicated by the mysterious details of his last day of life, which slowly come to light. 75,000 first printing. - (Baker & Taylor)

This “captivating thriller full of twists and surprises” (Megan Miranda, New York Times bestselling author)—about what happens when the death of a husband and father isn’t the tragedy everyone believes—is perfect for fans of the Netflix original series Dead to Me.

Emma Walsh has finally worked up the courage to confront her husband James about his drinking—his alcoholic rages, his blackouts, and the fear his behavior has created for her and their two kids. But James never shows up to meet her as planned, and all her righteous words go unsaid. And unsaid they remain, because the next time Emma sees James, his body lies crumpled amidst the wreckage of his flashy car, which has been smashed to its final resting place halfway through the back wall of their suburban house’s roomy garage.

In the aftermath of the fatal crash, Emma and her teenage children begin to embrace life without James’s looming, volcanic presence. Buoyed by the support of her two closest friends, she struggles to deal with her grief, complicated by the knowledge that her husband’s legacy as an upstanding business owner and family man shines only because so many people, for so long, were so willing to keep his secrets—secrets that twist into new and unexpected shapes as the mysterious details of his last day of life begin to come to light.

A sinister and suspenseful domestic thriller, lauded as “stylish” by Publishers Weekly and “delicious” by Booklist, Wish You Were Gone will keep you guessing “until not just the last page, but the last paragraph” (Chandler Baker, New York Times bestselling author). - (Simon and Schuster)

Author Biography
Large Cover Image
Librarian's View
Displaying 1 of 1